Search

See More Results
Home > Books > Books Like > 4 Great Books Like The Mortal Instruments
Image source: roadshow

4 Great Books Like The Mortal Instruments

Laura_Krueger_itcher_contributorThe Mortal Instruments has made Cassandra Claire a household name with City of Bones (2007), City of Ashes (2008), City of Glass (2009), City of Fallen Angels (2011), City of Lost Souls (2012) and City of Heavenly Fire (2013). ~ Laura Krueger

What Books Are Similar to The Mortal Instruments

It’s an addictive play on girl meets boy and discovers the world is not like she thought and neither are her parents

So what do you read next? Below are some suggestions for great books like The Mortal Instruments.

***
`Clockwork Prince´ (Cassandra Claire, 2010)

 

Clockwork PrinceYou can’t talk about books similar to The Mortal Instruments without mentioning The Infernal Devices.

As it’s set in the same world as The Mortal Instruments, it has a lot of what makes the world of The Mortal Instruments so addictive: Downworlders, romance, Shadowhunters, troubled pasts, evil villains, mystery and adventure.

Although it’s extremely similar to The Mortal Instruments, The Infernal Devices is still worth the read as the characters and plot are not carbon copies.

Image source: Flickr

SIMILARITY MATCH: 95%

***
`The Bane Chronicles´ (Cassandra Claire, Maureen Johnson & Sarah Rees Brennan, 2014)

 

The Bane ChroniclesThe Bane Chronicles follow Magnus Bane (all fans of The Mortal Instruments will recognize the name) in a series of ten short stories.

The stories cover events hinted at in The Mortal Instruments novels and follow Magnus through the French Revolution, Victorian England and to the events of the novels, including his and Alec’s first date.

A must-read for all The Mortal Instrument fans!

Image source: Wikipedia

SIMILARITY MATCH: 90%

***
`Magic Bites´ (Ilona Andrews, 2007)

 

Magic BitesThe world of Kate Daniels is filled with creatures and magic, like that of The Mortal Instruments, with its vampires, Shapeshifters and mythical creatures. It also has a plot full of subplots with various romantic and platonic relationships which develop between the myriad characters.

Themes such as love, loss, perseverance, betrayal, trust, etc, are all within the world Ilona Andrews have created, making their Kate Daniels novels an emotional rollercoaster ride, like that of Clary’s world.

Kate Daniels is an emotional rollercoaster ride.

As you follow Kate and Curran’s romance, you also follow her journey deeper into the shapeshifter world, one previously experienced only from the outside and with a surface-level understanding.

Image Source: ilona-andrews.com

SIMILARITY MATCH: 70%

***
`Shiver´ (Maggie Stiefvater, 2009)

 

ShiverShiver is the first in The Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy and follows on with Linger (2010) and Forever (2011).

It contains the story of what happens when Grace meets Sam, an unusual boy with an unusual secret: he turns into a wolf.

Although the plot is a simpler one in many respects, it is another good book like The Mortal Instruments, as you follow Grace and Sam’s struggle to be together, battling many obstacles that test their resolve.

You also follow Grace’s journey into Sam’s world and Sam’s return to Grace’s.

There are also other romances and subplots, and the themes of friendships, love, betrayal and death are also very much apparent, as they are in The Mortal Instruments.

Image Source: Wikipedia

SIMILARITY MATCH: 40%

***

On the Whole…

On the whole, it may be difficult to give a definitive list of other good books like The Mortal Instruments series because they are so different.

However, if you feel there are some that should really be on our list and that other readers will enjoy if they loved The Mortal Instruments then please let us know!

And, if that’s enough reading for you for a while and you prefer to watch a film now, do check out these movies like ‘City of Bones’.

 

Hi, I′m Helen, I teach English in the UK and am a book addict (I′m serious - if I go too long without reading I get withdrawal symptoms!). I also love music, films, crafting, corresponding and video games. It is impossible for me to sit still unless I′m eating, holding a book or making something.
[thrive_leads id="105464"]

Find out what the community are loving on the itcher app right now.