Search

See More Results
Home > Books > Books Like > 4 Great Books Like Fifty Shades of Grey – Come and Get Them!
Image source: Schmoesknow

4 Great Books Like Fifty Shades of Grey – Come and Get Them!

Helen Maloney itcherThere are probably very few women who haven’t read Fifty Shades of Grey by now. If you’re one of Christian’s fan club, you might be wondering what other handsome, powerful, troubled men you can fall in love with now. ~ Helen Maloney
But what are some other good books like Fifty Shades of Grey? Well, you don’t have to wonder any more as we’ve done the work for you and have found some great books like Fifty Shades for you to get your teeth into. Enjoy!
`Release Me´ (Julie Kenner, 2012)

Release Me´ Julie KennerEnter Damien Stark, another hot, sexy, businessman with a troubled past. Intrigued? So is Nikki Fairchild, who knows she should avoid him, but can’t help but be drawn to him regardless.

Like Christian in Fifty Shades, Damien has some control issues and always gets what he wants.

It isn’t just Damien with skeletons in his closet; Nikki has them too, making this a tale of the hero and heroine helping each other to heal, to learn to trust and to love. Of course, when they come together it’s exciting and hot, although a bit lighter on the BDSM side. I, personally, could not put this series down once I started to read it.

Image source: yougottaread

SIMILARITY MATCH: 80%

***
`Bared to You´ (Sylvia Day, 2012)

Bared to You´ Sylvia DayHere we have another tortured, controlling, billionaire businessman (Gideon ) with sexual abuse in his past. The focus of his affections is Eva, another childhood sexual abuse survivor, and their relationship is explosive from the start.

Gideon tries to negotiate his relationship with Eva, although there’s no formal contract like in Fifty Shades, but it fails miserably.

There is no playroom or bondage, but that doesn’t stop Gideon from being as dominant and possessive as Christian.

The main difference between Bared to You and Fifty Shades is that Gideon and Eva’s relationship is plagued with jealousy, co-dependency and an almost an obsession to be with each other – at the start seeming almost self-destructive in their need for one another.

You can’t deny their love for each other and their willingness to work on their issues and develop a relationship, despite neither of them really knowing what that means or involves.

Image source: stumblingoverchaos

SIMILARITY MATCH: 70%

***
`Naked in Death´ (J. D. Robb)

Naked in Death´ J. D. RobbNaked in Death is a completely different genre with it being Crime fiction, however, at the heart of the novels is the developing and deepening relationship between Eve and Roarke, similar to Fifty Shades whose primary focus is the relationship between Christian and Ana.

There are other similarities as well, of course: sexy, ruthless, powerful, billionaire businessman with a troubled past, won’t take no for an answer but will negotiate and compromise to get what he wants. There’s a heroine who completely does not understand her appeal. Although there’s very little bondage or BDSM, Roarke is very much a man who knows what he’s doing in the bedroom (read: lots of hot  sex scenes). He’s also a wee bit controlling and possessive, but it’s all done because he can’t stand Eve hurting or in danger.

As for differences? Well, as mentioned it’s a crime series, so a lot of the novel is focused on Eve solving the murders that have been committed before anyone else dies. Eve also has a troubled past and her relationship with Roarke helps her open to others around her and develop true friendships.

I’m also clearly not the only one who loves Eve and Roarke, since their series now equals around 40 books with more continuing to arrive on the shelves every year.

Image source: autumncanter

SIMILARITY MATCH: 60%

***
`Sway´ (Lauren Dane, 2012)

Sway´ Lauren DaneWhile Sway is perhaps more of a novella than a full novel, and a stand-alone as opposed to the start of a series where the relationship between characters develops, I can’t help but compare Sway to Fifty Shades. It is part of a series, but each book focuses on a different relationship, and it’s a spin off series to Dane’s Brown Series – all are worth a read, with a mix of dominating, possessive and troubled men and the lucky women who get them to their selves.

Levi is a handsome, rich man with issues – though not the sexual abuse kind, more the afraid to make more poor choices, repeat history and family pressure. Oh, and he worries about the age gap between him and Daisy.

In the bedroom, he’s dominating and in control but he proves he knows what he’s doing and give them both what he needs, including a very hot and exciting rope scene. Wow!

There’s more bondage and BDSM in Sway than in Bared to You and Release Me but at the heart it’s all about the relationship.

The main differences between Sway and Fifty Shades are that Daisy has a group of good close friends, rather than just one or two like Ana, and she’s not an innocent or inexperienced, though she is much younger than Levi.

Image source: goodreads

SIMILARITY MATCH: 60%

***

Enjoy!

I hope I’ve inspired you to want to try some of these great books like Fifty Shades of Grey.

Please let us know what you think of them and if you have any other good books similar to Fifty Shades of Grey to recommend to others.

We can’t wait to hear from you!

Want More Fifty Shades…?
Then please make sure you also check out our movies like Fifty Shades of Grey (with Titillometer!) article.
Hi, I′m Helen, I teach English in the UK and am a book addict (I′m serious - if I go too long without reading I get withdrawal symptoms!). I also love music, films, crafting, corresponding and video games. It is impossible for me to sit still unless I′m eating, holding a book or making something.
[thrive_leads id="105464"]

Find out what the community are loving on the itcher app right now.

 

Still looking for a
movie to watch?

Rate 5 movies and we'll find your next favorite one. For FREE.