Search

See More Results
Home > Books > Books Like > 5 Books like Vampire Academy: Mythical Romances
Image source: Luxury Reading

5 Books like Vampire Academy: Mythical Romances

The ‘Vampire Academy’ series follows high-school student Rose Hathaway, a Dhampir – a half human, half vampire hybrid. She’s a guardian of the Moroi, who are peaceful vampires against the immortal and inhumane vampires, the Strigoi. Books like ‘Bloodlines’, ‘Twilight’ and ‘The Vampire Diaries’ all follow younger teenagers who just so happen to be surrounded by vampires.

Forbidden Love and Blood

Rose and Lissa are best friends. However, when Rose falls in love with her instructor – Dimitri – the forbidden love causes a lot of problems for Rose and Lissa.

If this love triangle sounds good to you, then here are five books similar to ‘Vampire Academy’. 

***

Books Similar to ‘Vampire Academy’…

‘Bloodlines’ (Richelle Mead, 2011)

Image Source: One-Night

Sydney Sage is an alchemist – a human who works with the Moroi to hide vampires from the unsuspecting public. However, when she begins to spend more and more time with Adrian, a Moroi, things begin to get complicated as their love is forbidden, both in the human world and in the vampire world.

   

Similarity Match: 100%
If you want a book like ‘Vampire Academy’ then the ‘Bloodlines’ series couldn’t get any closer to it: they are both set in the same world, with characters that cross-over. This book series is a must for any ‘Vampire Academy’ fan!

***
Twilight’ (Stephanie Meyer, 2005)

Image Source: Amazon

Bella Swan moves to Forks, Washington, a seemingly boring and quiet town.

It’s not long before she notices a group of ‘kids’ at school who don’t seem to fit in with the rest. Her love for one of them leads to a discovery that will forever change her world – they are vampires.

 

Similarity Match: 90%
The ‘Twilight’ series and the ‘Vampire Academy’ series incorporate similar aspects of forbidden love and mythical beings, however ‘Twilight’ in centred on a human girl falling in love with a vampire whereas ‘Vampire Academy’ relates a half human-half vampire girl falling in love with someone of her own kind.

***
The Vampire Diaries’ (L. J. Smith, 1991)

Image Source: No Cookie

Elena Gilbert has lost her mother and father and just as she’s trying to adjust, her world is split wide open as she figures out that that her best friend Bonnie is a witch and she falls in love with a certain new student, Stefan Salvatore, who just so happens to be a vampire.

If this sounds good to you then you should also check out similar shows to this series which has been adapted for the screen.

 

Similarity Match: 80%
Rose and Elena may appear to be from different worlds, although both young girls in these books are determined to do right by the ones they love whilst engaging in a forbidden love affair that will change their lives forever.

***

If You Like ‘Vampire Academy’, You Will Like…

If you enjoy books similar to ‘Vampire Academy’ and would like something minus the vampires but still in the realm of fantasy, then ‘The Hunger Games’ series and the ‘Uglies’ series will definitely be books that you adore.

‘The Hunger Games’ (Suzanne Collins, 2008)

Image Source: La Arcadia de Urias

‘The Hunger Games’ series follows Katniss Everdeen, who lives in a dystopian post-apocalyptic nation divided into twelve districts.

Every year, a boy and a girl from each of the twelve districts is chosen by lottery to participate in the brutal ‘Hunger Games’.

 

 

You may not be able to see the similarities between ‘The Hunger Games’ and ‘Vampire Academy’ straight away. However, if you delve deeper you’ll notice that the aspect of fantasy is maintained thoroughly in both books.

***
‘Uglies’ (Scott Westerfeld, 2005)

Image Source: Amazon

Set in the future dystopian world, the government controls everything, including what you look like. Everyone receives the “pretty” operation on their sixteenth birthday, which transforms them into the society’s standard of beautiful, which also happens to allow the government to control their minds. 

   

The ‘Uglies’ series deals with the forbidden and unnatural as does ‘Vampire Academy’. However, they tackle the issues in relatively dissimilar ways – where one focuses on vampires, the other focuses on humans who undergo mind control and extreme plastic surgery.

***

Fantasy Worlds

One thing that all of these books have in common is that they’re based on fantasy. Whether they include vampires or are set in a dystopian world, it’s clear that fantasy plays a big role within these books.

Do you have any thoughts on these books or know of any more that feature mythical characters living amongst humans or in fantasy worlds?

Comment below and let us know!

itcher Mag is the place for entertainment recommendations across movies, books, music and games.
[thrive_leads id="105464"]

Find out what the community are loving on the itcher app right now.

 

Still looking for a
movie to watch?

Rate 5 movies and we'll find your next favorite one. For FREE.