Search

See More Results
Home > Books > Books Like > 5 Books like The Devil Wears Prada: Gucci, Glamour and City Living

5 Books like The Devil Wears Prada: Gucci, Glamour and City Living

Jane Howarth itcherAndy’s made her decision, the last page has been turned, and now you need something else to read! ‘Lipstick Jungle’, ‘Party Girl’ and ‘The Nanny Diaries’ are just a few of the label-loving, career-driven books like ‘The Devil Wears Prada’ you’ll fall for. ~ Jane Howarth

Where Will Your Louboutins Take You?

If you’re anything like me, you find an author you love and immediately exhaust their entire library. First stop: Lauren Weisberger heaven!

Rejoin the story ten years later with ‘Revenge Wears Prada: the Devil Returns’ (2013). All caught up? Stay in NYC with ‘Everyone Worth Knowing’ (2005) and ‘Chasing Harry Winston’ (2008) or travel cross-country for glamour and cocktails in Los Angeles-set, ‘Last Night at Chateau Marmont’ (2010).

But if you think you’ve exhausted every city-and-style book like ‘The Devil Wears Prada’? Think again.

***

Books Similar to ‘The Devil Wears Prada’…

‘Party Girl’ (Rachel Hollis, 2014)

Image Source: Goodreads

Don’t you get it? Nobody cares what your name is, Kansas. You’ll either fade into oblivion or find some way to earn your keep.

Landon can’t wait to start her internship with Selah Smith, prestigious party planner to Los Angeles’ rich and famous. And nope, it’s not the dream world she’s imagining!

Got a little bit of lifestyle envy? Being the former party planner and lifestyle queen that she is, the author has thrown us a lifeline.

Rachel Hollis has set down six impressive-looking but very simple cocktail recipes you can easily mix at your home bar (ahem, Ikea kitchen table). So, anyone for a kiwi mai tai?

Similarity Match: 90%
LA society’s got its own impossible standards… but you know you’ve got a book like ‘The Devil Wears Prada’ when you meet a terrifying boss, snarky co-worker and a closetful of designer names in the opening chapters.

***
‘The Nanny Diaries’ (Emma McLaughlin & Nicola Kraus, 2003)

Image Source: WordPress

Before me sits the full range of Upper East Side diversity – half of the women are dressed in Chanel suits and Manolo Blahniks, half… looking as if they might be asked to pitch an Aqua Scutum tent at any moment.

Manhattan’s Park Avenue – enviable address, eccentric residents. For a college girl who takes up a nanny position because she just needs the work, it’s a new world with its own rules. Before long, she’s dealing with regular kid-watching duties plus the tougher job of keeping the family’s secrets firmly compartmentalised.

Former nannies, McLaughlin and Kraus, who have perfected the fine art of shared writing duties, throw plenty of outrageous requests at their unfortunate heroine along the way. Almost all will make you cringe, but some will really make you laugh, too.

Similarity Match: 85%
A domestic version of Andy’s Manhattan story (emphasis on the outlandish requests and ultra-prestigious setting) with a few giggles along the way.

***
‘Lipstick Jungle’ (Candace Bushnell, 2005)

Image Source: Cleo Thailand

From an early age, Nico had been one of those people who exude an air of importance that causes other people to wonder who they are…

A film studio president, fashion designer and high-flying magazine editor try to keep their personal lives afloat with corporate battles. Throw in an unbreakable set of society rules and it soon becomes clear that their upper echelon positions are actually very precarious.

The Observer’s Stephanie Merritt asks whether the book’s ‘bleaker’ tone comes at the expense of Candace Bushnell’s trademark wit.

Well, maybe, but I actually loved the shift in tone.

These women face serious challenges, so that extra edge makes complete sense – and besides, if we want another ‘Sex and the City’, there are already so many options.

Similarity Match: 80%
Manhattan shows its glorious but icy cold side again, with publishing lining up alongside the movie and fashion industries to prove that life’s no safer at the top.

***
‘Power Play’ (Danielle Steel, 2014)

Image Source: Amazon

To anyone who didn’t know her, and many who did, she appeared to be in total control…

In her 91st novel, the titan of women’s fiction takes on California’s tech industry.

We’re introduced to CEO Fiona, completely in control of her work life and beloved by her near-adult kids. And then we meet Ashley and Liz, respectively the long-term mistress and wife of Marshall, who each lead totally different lives.

Similarity Match: 70%
We don’t get an Andy or Miranda, but you’ll love watching three very different characters make similar work/life choices. And there’s plenty of glamour and Givenchy.

***

If You Like ‘The Devil Wears Prada’, You Will Like…

For all the ‘can’t bear to look’ moments and outrageous requests, Andrea’s battle of wills with Miranda and the fashion world in general isn’t exactly a barrel of laughs.

If you’d prefer your next Prada in a lighter shade, you’ll love this one.

‘Prada and Prejudice (Dating Mr Darcy, Book 1)’ (Katie Oliver, 2014)

Image Source: Books and Authors

Under his jacket (Barbour) he wore a cashmere sweater (brand uncertain, but definitely expensive)…

Natalie is next-in-line to a department store empire. She knows, lives, and breathes luxury, which is unfortunate, given that the store is fast running into debt.

In other news, her personal life is becoming equally turbulent – just as a standoffish executive is brought in to fix the company…

Will there be a twist in the story? Actually, yes – and not just the pre-agreed romantic ones.

‘Prada and Prejudice’ throws a few extras into this Austen remix, and while it stays firmly in the bubbly category, those little changes make it a real page-turner.

Romantic and fun to read, it’s got all the fashion and society – without the soul-crushing brutality.

***

Choo Envy

After reading chapter after chapter of Pucci while wearing cosy socks and an old jumper, it’s an occupational hazard. I usually feel a little bit envious of all the beautiful things… but mostly relieved that I don’t have to live up to horrifyingly tall standards every day.

Know any unmissable books similar to ‘The Devil Wears Prada’? Let us know!

Hi, I’m Jane, BA (Drama, Film and TV) and MA (Cultural and Creative Industries). When I’m not writing about creative things, I’m designing or planning them. If you’re brave enough to risk an avalanche, look behind the stacks of books and DVDs and you’ll find me balancing a cup of tea, a handful of knitting and a cupcake.
[thrive_leads id="105464"]

Find out what the community are loving on the itcher app right now.

 

Still looking for a
movie to watch?

Rate 5 movies and we'll find your next favorite one. For FREE.