Search

See More Results
Home > Books > Books Like > 5 Books like The Da Vinci Code: Unravelling the Conspiracy
Image source: TMDB

5 Books like The Da Vinci Code: Unravelling the Conspiracy

Andrew Wilmot itcherBack in 2003, Dan Brown’s ‘The Da Vinci Code’ captured us all with a beautifully crafted conspiracy story about the very foundations of Christianity. If Dan Brown’s brilliantly constructed mystery has left you wanting more, then give these other books like ‘The Da Vinci Code’ a try : ‘Angels and Demons’, ‘The Holy Blood and the Holy Grail’, ‘The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo’, ‘1984’ and ‘Divine Comedy’. ~ Andrew Wilmot

Men go to far greater lengths to avoid what they fear than to obtain what they desire.

Dan Brown’s ‘The Da Vinci Code’ was such a phenomenon that the only book that sold more copies that year was the latest Harry Potter adventure. Decried as incorrect and offensive, it nevertheless sold 90 million copies by 2009.

***

Books Similar to ‘The Da Vinci Code’…

‘Angels and Demons’ (Dan Brown, 2000)

Image Source: Dan Brown

God answers all prayers, but sometimes his answer is ‘no’.

Robert Langdon discovers that longtime conspiracy theory boogeymen, the ‘Illuminati’, are back and plotting against the Catholic Church. Our protagonist has to warn the Vatican before it’s too late. However, soon conspiracy after conspiracy becomes uncovered, and all initial assumptions about who is responsible for what are shattered.

If you liked this book you will probably love the movie (and these other great movies similar to ‘Angels and Demons’) as well.

Similarity Match: 90%
With a similar Christianity themed conspiracy, the same protagonist as in ‘The Da Vinci Code’ and even by the same author, if you’re looking for more books like ‘The Da Vinci Code’ you have to go here first.

***
‘The Holy Blood and the Holy Grail’ (Michael Baigent, Richard Leigh and Henry Lincoln, 1982)

Image Source: Amazon

It is typical of my unregenerable soul that I can only see this as a marvellous theme for a novel. – Anthony Burgess

In ‘The Holy Blood and the Holy Grail’, the trio of authors put forward the theory that the historic Jesus married Mary Magdalene and created the Merovingian dynasty in Southern France, and that there is a secret society known as the ‘Priory of Scion’.

Similarity Match: 80%
Well there’s no race against time in this non-fiction book, but it’s doubtless inspired countless books like ‘The Da Vinci Code’.

***
‘The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo’ (Stieg Larsson, 2005)

Image Source: WordPress

Everyone has secrets. It’s just a matter of finding out what they are.

It’s really a shame this was published posthumously, as I’m sure Stieg Larsson would have loved to see his ‘Millenium’ series become so popular. In ‘The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo’, Reporter Mikael Blomkvist is hired by an industrial tycoon, Henrik Vanger, to investigate the disappearance of his niece, Harriet, along with computer hacking whiz Lisbeth Salander.

Check out this article for more books like ‘The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo’.

Similarity Match: 70%
The conspiracy is of somewhat less importance than in ‘The Da Vinci Code’, but it’s no less twisty and enchanting.

***
‘1984’ (George Orwell, 1949)

Image Source: WordPress

If you want a picture of the future, imagine a boot stamping on a human face—forever!

Written shortly after the WW2, the fall of Nazism and during the continued rise of Communism, ‘1984’ is an incredibly entertaining read in isolation, but when you consider how much has come true from Orwell’s warning to the future, it becomes incredibly chilling.

1984 focuses on Winston Smith and his subtle rebellions against the authoritarian regime that dominates his everyday life. This leads him into the very heart of the machine, and into depths of madness.

Similarity Match: 65%
In ‘1984’ the ‘conspiracy’ utterly dominates everyday life, rather than acting behind the scenes. Unlike the protagonist in ‘the Da Vinci Code’, poor Winston Smith doesn’t care for unravelling the mystery.

***

If You Like ‘The Da Vinci Code’, You Will Like…

Less into conspiracy and more into fiction inspired by the church? This other book like ‘The Da Vinci Code’ should tickle your fancy!

‘Divine Comedy’ (Dante Alighieri, 1320)

Image Source: Weebly

Well, you’re going to want to find a modern version of this, but this is practically required reading for anyone into church-inspired fiction. ‘Divine Comedy’ is split up into three separate parts. ‘Inferno’ chronicles Dante’s journey through hell, ‘Purgatorio’ chronicles his journey through purgatory, and you’ve probably guessed that the third part, ‘Paradiso’ chronicles his journey through heaven.

 

Very different types of story, but inspired by Christian canon just like ‘The Da Vinci Code’. If you loved the historical attributes (or lack thereof) of books like ‘The Da Vinci Code’, you’ll love this.

***

What If the Biggest Religion Was Built on a Lie?

Dan Brown is one of the most prolific authors out there, with his books ‘Digital Fortress’, ‘The Lost Symbol’ and ‘Inferno’ all being particularly good, as are the other books in Stieg Larsson’s ‘Millennium’ trilogy ‘The Girl Who Played with Fire’ and ‘The Girl who Kicked the Hornets Nest’.

Have we missed a brilliantly twisted thriller?

Let us know in the comments below!

itcher Mag is the place for entertainment recommendations across movies, books, music and games.
[thrive_leads id="105464"]

Find out what the community are loving on the itcher app right now.

 

Still looking for a
movie to watch?

Rate 5 movies and we'll find your next favorite one. For FREE.