Search

See More Results
Home > Books > Books Like > 5 Books like The Crossfire Series: Troubled Relationships
Image source: Penguin

5 Books like The Crossfire Series: Troubled Relationships

Helen Maloney itcherLoved the ‘Crossfire Series’? Looking for your next fix of passionate and desperate romance? Then I have five thrilling books like the ‘Crossfire Series’ for you, full to the brim of sexy alpha males, troubled relationships and gripping romance.
~ Helen Maloney

Devastating and Demanding Heroes

Gideon and Eva’s relationship captured us from the moment their eyes first met, drawing us ever deeper into their world of secrets, half-truths and heart-wrenching confessions. This is a story of two people with traumatic pasts coming together in a dramatic and worlds-colliding way.

I’m sure I’m not the only one addicted to their story, eagerly awaiting the next installment, so I’ve found more scintillating, sexy stories to keep us going while we wait. Bon appétit!

***
‘The Stark Trilogy’ (J. Kenner, 2012-2013)

Image Source: Gravetells

“Everyone breaks a little sometimes. That doesn’t make you weak. It makes you wounded. And I will always be there to help you heal…”

Damien is a darkly dangerous and commanding figure, who is as full of secrets as Gideon. He is also generally closed-mouthed, while expecting Nikki to divulge all her past hurts and her feelings. Nikki also has a controlling mother, so she has issues with Damien’s attempts to control everything.

Within Kenner’s Trilogy the couple are threatened by the nature of Damien’s secrets as well as the fact that he keeps them from Nikki, unlike ‘Crossfire’ where the couple struggle because of the nature of the trauma their pasts has caused.

Similarity Match: 90%
This is another tale of a couple who experience a passionate and desperate need for one another but one where outside forces and Damien’s secrets create the obstacles.

***
The ‘Fifty Shades’ Series (E. L. James, 2011-2012)

Image Source: Wikimedia

“Sometimes I wonder if there’s something wrong with me. Perhaps I’ve spent too long in the company of my literary romantic heroes, and consequently my ideals and expectations are far too high…”

James offers us a hero tormented by his past, who needs to be in control and who is very protective and possessive of those he cares about.

Ana is desperate to help Christian see the truth about himself, mend the rifts with his family and heal, which is reminiscent of Eva’s struggle. It also causes both heroines to place themselves in harm’s way, their stubborn nature fuelling an almost self-destructive and selfless need to help their partner.

One of the main differences is that there is a lot more kinky sex and BDSM involved in their relationship, especially at the start.

Similarity Match: 80%
Gideon and Christian resemble each other in many ways, but Ana has no dark past or real issues that she must overcome, other than accepting the realities of her submissive nature and finding a compromise with Christian.

***
The ‘In Death’ Series (J. D. Robb, 1995 – )

Image Source: Jenblood

“Roarke is her everything, as she is his. It matters, I think, that these two people who came from abuse and viciousness found each other, helped make each other into better people. Love opened them to more…”

Enigmatic, supremely successful and a man used to getting his own way, Roarke has met his match when he meets Eve, an amazingly strong yet vulnerable woman. They both have terrible and traumatic pasts, which they must overcome and which cause them both to have terrible nightmares. Eve is also unaware of her appeal, while Roarke is as equally possessive and protective of Eve as Gideon with Eva.

While their relationship is naturally a central focus running throughout the series, giving us the opportunity to see how their relationship develops and deepens over time, each novel revolves around a homicide case Eve must solve.

Similarity Match: 75%
Robb gives us another case of 2 lost souls coming together and healing the hurts of their dark pasts, but they generally have more success as they are regularly in life and death situations.

***
‘Broken Open’ (Lauren Dane, 2014)

Image Source: Lauren Dane

“Something in him called to her. The shape of his eyes, the history in them, she supposed, a little dark and twisty. His lips, well, the bottom one had to be pillow soft. She’d thought about that issue in great detail. He had the hottest mouth she’d laid eyes on in a long time…”

Both our hero and heroine have hurts to heal and obstacles within themselves to overcome in order to reach a happy ending. From the start, their relationship is full of fire, chemistry and an intimacy they can’t deny. Neither knows where each step will take them, yet they can’t avoid drawing closer.

Dane gives both our protagonists large families with close ties, rather than having them at odds with them, providing them with a support network to help them deal with their issues that Gideon and Eva often lack. Their troubles have nothing to do with their childhood abuse or rape but are related to events that occur as adults.

Similarity Match: 70%
Rather than a sexy businessman, we have a superhot rock-star rancher, and their relationship has fewer sharp edges, yet it is still a gripping read.

***
‘Because you are Mine’ (Beth Kery, 2012)

Image Source: Booktopia

“I didn’t give myself permission to fall in love with you…”

A hero with dark secrets and a man used to getting his own way, Ian is convinced he’s wrong for Francesca but he can’t stay away and neither can she, giving it a slightly self-destructive and desperate feel, similar to ‘The Crossfire Series’. Francesca is determined to show him that he is the right man for her, and to break down his walls and claim all of him for herself.

Delivered as a serial before being sold as a complete novel, it begins a series of four full novels, of which only two focus on the main couple, so they reach their happy ever after sooner.

Similarity Match: 70%
Kery presents us with another controlling and compelling hero who must learnt to submit to another, yet on the whole, this has less tension than ‘The Crossfire Series’.

***

Choices, Choices.

So now you have the difficult decision to make of which book to read first!

Please let me know if you have enjoyed any of the books I have recommended as books similar to ‘The Crossfire series’, including what you liked or disliked about them.

Have you any other books like ‘The Crossfire series’ to recommend or which you think should be on my list instead of the titles I have chosen?

Hi, I′m Helen, I teach English in the UK and am a book addict (I′m serious - if I go too long without reading I get withdrawal symptoms!). I also love music, films, crafting, corresponding and video games. It is impossible for me to sit still unless I′m eating, holding a book or making something.
[thrive_leads id="105464"]

Find out what the community are loving on the itcher app right now.

 

Still looking for a
movie to watch?

Rate 5 movies and we'll find your next favorite one. For FREE.