Search

See More Results
Home > Books > Books Like > 5 Books like Shiver: A Unique Take on the Supernatural
Image source: Maggie Stiefvater

5 Books like Shiver: A Unique Take on the Supernatural

Helen Maloney itcher‘Shiver’ presents us with a new take on werewolves, while giving us a poignant love story. Stiefvater writes in a descriptive and expressive style that captures the imagination. Below I have a series of books like ‘Shiver’ for you to enjoy. ~ Helen Maloney

Secret Supernatural Worlds

Shiver’ is such a unique novel that it can be really difficult to find anything like it. But don’t worry, I have done the hard work and found five books similar to Shiver’ for you to take for a test drive. You have the fun job of deciding which one to read first…

***
‘Beautiful Creatures’ (Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl, 2009)

Image Source: Amazon

“The right thing and the easy thing are never the same…”

Garcia and Stohl give us a lot of information and history about the area our story is set in, as well as in depth character descriptions. They include an element of mystery, which is slowly revealed as you progress through the story. We realise all is not right with Ethan’s home town once our heroine arrives and strange things start happening.

One of the main differences is that the story is told from just Ethan’s perspective, rather than switching between the two, and there is a lot more pettiness and negativity in the community on the whole.

If you’re rather in the mood for a movie, check out these movies like ‘Beautiful Creatures’.

Similarity Match: 80%
‘Beautiful Creatures’ is essentially another boy-meets-girl story with secrets, yet the major difference is this story involves magic, not werewolves.

***
‘The Scorpio Races’ (Maggie Stiefvater, 2011)

Image Source: Gr-assets

“It is the first of November and so, today, someone will die…”

This novel is also written in the same eloquent and descriptive style, with an imaginative take on a dangerous, supernatural creature.

The romance is less of a focus than in ‘Shiver’ and the ‘Capall Uisce’ are a more threatening and violent species than the wolves generally appear. Stiefvater includes more gore and obvious danger in this tale.

Similarity Match: 75%
Another tale where our protagonists are in a race against time, yet with a focus on the island and inhabitants as a whole than our couple.

***
‘Gone’ (Michael Grant, 2008)

Image Source: Amazon

“It’s vital to keep a sense of humour when the world seems to have suddenly become a very strange place…”

This is another twist on a popular idea – werewolves vs. no adults around – but with Grant’s own distinctive and fluent style and tone, which includes lots of description and mystery.

Rather than supernatural creatures, we have teens and children with ‘gifts’. The danger is more obvious and human in nature, and it has a darker and more ‘Lord of the Flies’ feel than ‘Shiver’.

Similarity Match: 70%
‘Gone’ is also a gripping tale and a series revolving around a whole community formed of the under 14s, rather than one focusing on a small group within a community.

***
‘City of Bones’ (Cassandra Clare, 2007)

Image Source: WordPress

“It’s your gift, to see the beauty and the horror in ordinary things. It doesn’t make you crazy, just different…”

Our heroine also experiences an eye-opening, life-changing moment when she discovers the supernatural actually exists. Clare also adds twist to the familiar species and characters, bringing them new life.

The heroine’s attention is also immediately held by the male lead, who draws her deeper into his world despite the danger he and his world represent. There are more supernatural creatures, and werewolves are not the focal point of the story, neither is the romance between Jace and Clary (although it is obviously still a large part of it).

If you liked this book, and maybe also the movie, have a look at these films similar to ‘City of Bones’ for some more supernatural love.

Similarity Match: 70%
Clare also writes an imaginative and intriguing tale, where the world we know has secrets, but the world is a far larger one than Mercy Falls.

***
‘Clockwork Angel’ (Cassandra Clare, 2010)

Image Source: Cassandra Clare

“One must always be careful of books,” said Tessa, “and what is inside them, for words have the power to change us…”

Although written by the same author as ‘The Mortal Instruments’ and existing in the same world, this book is something new and exciting. Again we have a heroine discovering the supernatural suddenly, although this time while in search of her brother. She is also drawn further into this world because of her feelings for the one who saves her.

Clare writes in an expressive way, giving us deep and realistic character descriptions and development. The romance is slow and easy, not some hormone-driven mad rush, which resembles the feel of ‘Shiver’.

On the other hand, we again have a world filled with a plethora of supernatural beings, of which werewolves is just one. The main difference, however, is that it is set during the Victorian Age.

Similarity Match: 70%
The style, depth and detail are very similar but the time period and the scale of the supernatural world created vary vastly.

***

So Which One Will You Pick?

I hope at least one of my recommended books like Shiver’ has caught your fancy and you’re eager to get your hands on a copy and give it a go. If I have inspired you, please let me know what you thought of the above suggestions –what you liked or disliked about them, do you agree with my views, etc.

Are there any other books similar enough that they should be on my list?

Hi, I′m Helen, I teach English in the UK and am a book addict (I′m serious - if I go too long without reading I get withdrawal symptoms!). I also love music, films, crafting, corresponding and video games. It is impossible for me to sit still unless I′m eating, holding a book or making something.
[thrive_leads id="105464"]

Find out what the community are loving on the itcher app right now.

 

Still looking for a
movie to watch?

Rate 5 movies and we'll find your next favorite one. For FREE.