Search

See More Results
Home > Books > Books Like > 5 Books like Night Huntress: Intense & Fraught Love Affairs
Image source: Jeaniene Frost

5 Books like Night Huntress: Intense & Fraught Love Affairs

Helen Maloney itcherCat and Bones have captured our hearts with their strength, humour and deep love. If you’re mourning the end of this series, then I have some offerings to soften the blow. We have world-changing love in ‘Angels’ Blood’ and the immensely intense ‘Raphael’. ~ Helen Maloney

The Course of True Love Never Did Run Smooth

I will never stop loving you. No one can change that. No matter what happens later, I’ll still love you.

Cat and Bones’ relationships has seen more than its fair share of troubles: deals with government factions, assassination attempts, forgotten husbands and so much more.

Whether it’s the intense nature of their relationship and how their struggles have made them stronger, or the blend of humour and violence running through, I definitely have something for you in my list of 5 books like ‘Night Huntress’.

***

Books Similar to ‘Night Huntress’…

‘Raphael’ (D. B. Reynolds, 2009)

Image Source: D B Reynolds

She wants nothing to do with me, and yet I find her…fascinating.

Raphael is one of the most powerful Vampire Lords in America, a man who has earned the fear and respect his name elicits. It doesn’t stop others from planning against him, however, resulting in his hiring of Cynthia, a human PI, to aid in tracking down the humans his enemies are working with. But is Cyn ready to enter this dark and dangerous world?

Like Cat, Cyn is a strong woman determined not to give into her fear, yet drawn to a supremely powerful, dominant male but she is also a human who knows she can’t be an equal in this lethal world.

Similarity Match: 85%
While this world is darker and the violence often more explicit, the romance between these two is no less intense or fraught with troubles.

***
‘Angels Blood’ (Nalini Singh, 2009)

Image Source: Amazon

This was the kind of job that made legends out of hunters. Of course, to be a legend, you generally had to be dead.

Elena is a vampire hunter and one of the very best. She is used to meeting powerful and dangerous individuals, but nothing can prepare her for meeting the archangel Raphael, who wants to offer her a hunt. This time, however, her target is an archangel who has lost control and she’s not sure she can pull it off. Even if she does somehow manage the impossible, can she hold out against Raphael’s charm, beauty and sensuality?

We find ourselves in a world of creatures so powerful it boggles the mind and the events our couple find themselves working through reflect the inherent violence. As we follow them through the ‘Guild Hunter’ series, Elena and Raphael must survive Elena’s transformation and the change this brings to their relationship, an Ancient archangel with power over the dead, and unexplained bloodlust and rage, to name just a few.

Similarity Match: 80%
The world building is more complex than that of the ‘Night Huntress’ world and often darker and deeper, yet the love these two share is still the focus and the main draw.

***
‘Goddess with a Blade’ (Lauren Dane, 2011)

Image Source: Goodreads

You should know that your look of wary curiosity tinged with your natural-born hostility only makes you more alluring.

Rowan is the Vessel for the goddess Brigid. As such, she is tasked with maintaining the balance in the world. She focuses her path through the Hunter Corporation, who battle to keep the fragile Treaty between the Vampire Nation and the rest of the world. She meets the new Scion of Las Vegas, Clive, while hunting a vampire who cares naught for human or vampire rules.

Like Cat and Bones, Rowan and Clive have a tempestuous beginning but this just means their passion and love for each other burns all the brighter. They face their share of troubles as well, but they’re determined to ride out the storms together, which is probably why this is my favourite book like ‘Night Huntress’, and probably my favourite vampire series.

Similarity Match: 75%
While both our heroines fight to defend innocents, and the blend of humour and violence is there, each book in this series is part of a larger plot.

***

If You Like ‘Night Huntress’, You Will Like…

If you enjoy the world Jeaniene has created and how she’s incorporated the vampire world with other supernatural aspects, or how she adds to the vampire myths, then the following 2 books might be worth your while.

‘A Hunger like No Other’ (Kresley Cole, 2006)

Image Source: Zwartraafje

While you’ve been running around growling ‘mine’, I’ve been silently saying it right back at you.

Emmaline is a half-vampire, half-Valkyrie who has set out on her first adventure and to seek the truth about her dead parents. Lachlan is the leader of the Lykae clan, trapped and tortured by the Vampire Horde until the scent of his mate rouses him enough to escape. Even though he hates vampires, he’s still determined to claim his mate, no matter her protests.

Cole, like Frost, likes to blend humour with violence, and often her heroines have a lot of sassy comebacks and strength, which remind me of Cat.

As with the ‘Night Huntress’ series, the ‘Immortals After Dark’ books are intense, dramatic and addictive, however, each one is about a different couple.

***
‘Dark Lover’ (J. R. Ward, 2005)

Image Source: Amazon

There exists a brotherhood of warrior vampires whose mission is to defend their race from the slayers who wish to destroy them. Wrath, their leader, enjoys killing the creatures who murdered his parents and best friend, but now he must help his friend’s half-breed daughter survive her transition and he’s convinced he’s not up to the task.

Although generally each book follows the story of a different couple, Wrath and Beth still appear throughout the series, so we can see their relationship is full of happy moments and struggles, just like Cat and Bones.

Unlike the ‘Night Huntress’ series, the books follow the entire brotherhood and their war with the lesser but that doesn’t mean the romances are any less intense or troubled.

***

In for a Penny, In for a Pound

Before you read any of the above (if you haven’t already), I should warn you that they can be addictive. So be prepared to have a reading marathon or be frustrated if you don’t have the next book immediately at hand.

I would love to hear your thoughts on any of the books mentioned and if you have your own recommendations, please share them in the comments below.

Hi, I′m Helen, I teach English in the UK and am a book addict (I′m serious - if I go too long without reading I get withdrawal symptoms!). I also love music, films, crafting, corresponding and video games. It is impossible for me to sit still unless I′m eating, holding a book or making something.
[thrive_leads id="105464"]

Find out what the community are loving on the itcher app right now.

 

Still looking for a
movie to watch?

Rate 5 movies and we'll find your next favorite one. For FREE.