Search

See More Results
Home > Books > Books Like > 5 Books like Lords of the Underworld
Image source: Wordpress

5 Books like Lords of the Underworld

Helen Maloney itcherThey opened Pandora’s box and released demons into the world. Now they’re cursed to be their vessels until their deaths. These tortured heroes captured our attention and now it’s time to meet many more in my books like the Lords of the Underworld series. Enjoy! ~ Helen Maloney

A Trip to Heaven or Hell?

As someone who reads a lot of paranormal romance and urban fantasy, I’ve come across many a tormented male lead; books dealing with themes of redemption, love, brotherhood and suffering, so I feel pretty confident in my choices.

***
‘Lords of Deliverance’ (Larissa Ione, 2011-2012)

Image Source: Goodreads

Similarities: Heroes (and heroines) with their demon halves, giving them a wildness and intensity to the Lords of the Underworld, as well as instincts they struggle to ignore. Our valiant horsemen of the apocalypse also have their curses to live with, on top of horrible prophecies of, well, the apocalypse.

Differences: These stories are not linked to Greek mythology in any way, and are more in line with the Christian beliefs of angels and demons, heaven and hell, good and evil, etc., although with the author’s own slant on these.

 
 

Similarity Match: 95%
The dominoes have fallen and it’s a race against time to save the world and their souls, but here the demon slayers are on their side and demons aren’t always evil.

***
‘The Black Dagger Brotherhood’ (J.R. Ward, 2005- continuing)

Image Source: Imagesbn

Similarities: A brotherhood of warriors with hidden and not-so-hidden wounds and suffering. A merciless band of hunters determined to destroy them all. Differences: Rather than demons and Greek mythology, we have vampires with their own culture and religion.

Check out this article for more books like ‘The Black Dagger Brotherhood’.

 

 

 

Similarity Match: 90%
Here we have another ultimate brotherhood but no curses, just alpha male vampire instincts and the fate of their race in their hands.

***
‘Wicked Deeds on a Winter’s Night’ (Kresley Cole, 2006-continuing)

Image Source: CloudFront

Similarities: Our hero is cursed, he’s tormented and suffering and he’s very much an alpha male. He also has Lykae instincts, making him aggressive, protective and possessive.

The rest of the series also shares similarities, as we have each new novel and couple adding to the whole and a big battle on the way.

Differences: Demons are just another species and not one that’s necessarily evil. There is also no attached mythology.

 
 
 

Similarity Match: 85%
Suffering hero? Check. Powerful yet vulnerable heroine? Check. Big evil plot? Check. Cursed with the demons of Death, Plague, Violence, etc.? No.

***
‘The Immortals’ (Jennifer Ashley, Joy Nash, Robin Popp, 2007-2008)

Similarities: A brotherhood of warriors with the fate of the world in their hands. They are immortals and used to having their own way. Many wish to be left alone. Their world also includes demons, as well as vampires, werewolves, witches and more.

Differences: While the warriors are the children of different goddesses, the books do not align with a specific faith of mythology. The heroes are also not tormented with a curse or demon halves, although they have seen plenty of death and suffering.

Similarity Match: 80%
Yet again demons want to rule the world and it’s up to a group of determined individuals to stop them, however the immortal warriors need to be convinced into helping.

***
‘Charlie Davidson’ (Darynda Jones, 2011- continuing)

Similarities: The hero is another male that knows about hell and demons, and has seen a lot of death, war and suffering in his life. There are angels and demons, gods and goddesses and a big evil plot with end of the world style consequences.

Differences: This series follows just one unique couple, rather than each book being told through different couples’ perspectives.

Similarity Match: 75%
While there are angels, demons, gods, gifted humans, prophecies and an evil plot that is distributed bit by bit, it’s really Charley that is the hope of mankind.

***

End of the World or Just the Beginning?

So which of these thrilling tales have you already read?

Which books similar to the Lords of the Underworld series would you add to your list and recommend to others?

Please share your ideas and opinions with us.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Hi, I′m Helen, I teach English in the UK and am a book addict (I′m serious - if I go too long without reading I get withdrawal symptoms!). I also love music, films, crafting, corresponding and video games. It is impossible for me to sit still unless I′m eating, holding a book or making something.
[thrive_leads id="105464"]

Find out what the community are loving on the itcher app right now.

 

Still looking for a
movie to watch?

Rate 5 movies and we'll find your next favorite one. For FREE.