Search

See More Results
Home > Books > Books Like > 5 Books like Kate Daniels: Kick-Ass Heroines
Image source: ndsstatic

5 Books like Kate Daniels: Kick-Ass Heroines

Helen Maloney itcherKate Daniels is a strong-willed, superbly-skilled swordswoman with a dark and dangerous secret. In these books like ‘Kate Daniels’ you will find more stubborn and sassy women who will do what it takes to save those they care about – heroines like Luna in ‘Night Life’, Mercy in ‘Moon Called’ and Dorina in ‘Midnight’s Daughter’. ~ Helen Maloney

Things That Go Bump in the Night

Kate Daniels’ world is full of mythological and supernatural creatures: from Celtic goddesses to vampires, from Japanese Ogres to ancient Greek beasts and more. The following books also involve worlds full of paranormal and fantastical species that our heroines and heroes belong to or must defend against.

***

Books Similar to ‘Kate Daniels’…

‘Spider’s Bite’ (Jennifer Estep, 2010)

Image Source: cloudfront

Sorry, I was busy talking about my feelings and killing people…

Gin is a highly-skilled, extremely well-paid assassin and is also a powerful elemental. Still struggling with the deaths of her family as a child, she must now hunt the Air elemental who tortured and murdered her surrogate father – the man who taught her the skills to survive and gave her a second family.

If you get a kick reading about Kate’s exploits then Gin is definitely a must-read – she’s sassy and snarky, super-skilled and gets great satisfaction from killing people, especially when they really deserve it.

Similarity Match: 90%
As in ‘Magic Bites’, Gin must uncover the truth amidst all the lies if she is to find the killer and avenge her surrogate father’s brutal death, however there is much less mythology woven in.

***
‘Midnight’s Daughter’ (Karen Chance, 2008)

Image Source: photobucket

Dorina hails from an ancient and proud line of vampires but unfortunately she is just a dhampir – half-vampire, half-human and illegitimate to boot. Being a dhampir comes will a host of problems and her life isn’t likely to get any better now her uncle ‘Drac’ has escaped and plots his revenge, her father has saddled her with a vampire partner and her best friend is missing.

I enjoy reading about ‘Dory’ for many of the same reasons I love Kate: she is irreverent, supremely practical with great instincts and fighting skills, has a knack for finding trouble and enjoys a good fight.

Similarity Match: 85%
Like ‘Magic Bites’, ‘Midnight’s Daughter’ is a story of changing perceptions and overcoming a multitude of dangers; both are a great introduction to the series.

***
‘Moon Called’ (Patricia Briggs, 2006)

Image Source: readereater

I didn’t realize he was a werewolf at first. My nose isn’t at its best when surrounded by axle grease and burnt oil…

Mercy Thompson is a coyote shifter, smaller and weaker than the majority of supernatural beings who live openly or in secret among humans. But that doesn’t stop her from standing up for herself, doing the right thing or defending those she loves from those the stories and legends are made of.

Like Kate, she often ends up battling those stronger and scarier than she but she doesn’t really enjoying violence or battle, making her a much calmer heroine.

What I like best about this character is that she is constantly striving to do the best she can, even against what seem like impossible odds, which reminds me a lot of Kate actually.

Similarity Match: 80%
Although with fewer mythological creatures and the majority of them from Fae legend, this book and series is equally addictive as Kate Daniels’.

***

If You Like ‘Kate Daniels’, You Will Like…

Strong-willed women seem to be a common theme within paranormal and urban fantasy, which is fantastic, and the brilliance of world-building is fab in all of these series. However, the next two have fewer similarities in terms of plot and themes with the ‘Kate Daniels’ series, but are still marvellous examples of the urban fantasy genre.

‘Night Life’ (Caitlin Kittredge, 2008)

Image Source: wordpress

If you got the bite, you pretty much resigned yourself to living with the constant, twitchy fear that someone would discover your secret and take matters into their own hands…

Luna is an Insoli, a werewolf without a pack and as such she is an outsider who is maligned and under constant threat. Working as a detective while keeping her Were nature in check and a secret is a challenge, until she finds herself in the middle of a terrible plot, caught between police and pack politics, and she discovers the challenge has only just begun.

While there are many similarities between Kate and Luna, her alpha love interest bears little resemblance to Curran (unfortunately).

***
‘Dragon Bound’ (Thea Harrison, 2011)

Image Source: thebookpushers

I have learned so many things over the long years, “he whispered…”I’ve taken tribute from sovereigns and witnessed the end of empires. But you are my best teacher…

At first glance, Pia is almost Kate’s opposite with her more pacifist nature, calm demeanour and having more of a ‘flight’ than ‘fight’ response, yet she is equally is as stubborn and determined, keen to do the right thing and protect those she cares about. She also has to deal with being mated to an ultimate alpha male, one who’s used to being in charge and doing things his own way, which makes this a very similar book to kate daniels.

The best thing about this book is definitely the couple. Their relationship is very different from Kate and Curran’s but oh so swoon worthy. Can I have a Dragos, pretty please?

Just as in Kate Daniels’ world there is a mix of mythological and paranormal creatures and the world building is excellent, but this series if full of standalone novels rather than a continuation with the same couple.

***

Come Fly with Me…

…to a world full of adventure, danger and romance!

Within any of these novels (and series) you will find yourself transported to a magical and dangerous, but familiar, place, and I bet you won’t want to stop reading.

If you enjoy any of these recommendations or if you know any other book like ‘Kate Daniels’  that deserves to be mentioned, let us know in the comments below!

Hi, I′m Helen, I teach English in the UK and am a book addict (I′m serious - if I go too long without reading I get withdrawal symptoms!). I also love music, films, crafting, corresponding and video games. It is impossible for me to sit still unless I′m eating, holding a book or making something.
[thrive_leads id="105464"]

Find out what the community are loving on the itcher app right now.

 

Still looking for a
movie to watch?

Rate 5 movies and we'll find your next favorite one. For FREE.