Search

See More Results
Home > Books > Books Like > 5 Books like Eat, Pray, Love: Inspirational Females
Image source: The Urban Dater

5 Books like Eat, Pray, Love: Inspirational Females

Books like ‘Eat, Pray, Love’ , ‘Under the Tuscan Sun: At Home in Italy’, ‘Tales of a Female Nomad: Living At Large in the World’ and ‘A Year by the Sea’ all follow female protagonists on their self-discovery journeys.

Memoirs and Misfortunes

Written by Elizabeth Gilbert in 2006, ‘Eat, Pray, Love’ is one woman’s memoir of her trip around the world as she starts a new life after her divorce. The novel’s protagonist and author travels all around the world, from Italy to India to Indonesia, trying to rediscover herself after an unhappy marriage and a difficult divorce.

The main emphasis of ‘Eat, Pray, Love’ is on self-discovery, which may appear to make the protagonist a little narcissistic at times. If you enjoyed the book, you might also want to check out similar titles to the film adaptation starring Julia Roberts. And if you would prefer to keep reading, here are five books similar to ‘Eat, Pray Love’. 

***

Books Similar to ‘Eat, Pray, Love’…

‘Under the Tuscan Sun: At Home in Italy’ (Frances Mayes, 1996)

Image Source: Amazon

This novel is definitely an inspiration not just to women but anyone and everyone who can relate to it. Frances Mayes goes through a horrible divorce and decides to restore an old villa in Tuscan, Italy. She overcomes tragedy and fear and this will surely inspire you and leave you feeling very emotional.
 
 

Similarity Match: 95%
‘Under The Tuscan Sun’ and ‘Eat, Pray, Love’ both feature strong women who overcome unhappy marriages and bad divorces by going on the road to self-discovery, however you may find that this novel is more emotional compared to ‘Eat, Pray, Love’.

***
‘Tales of a Female Nomad: Living At Large in the World’ (Rita Golden Gelman, 2001)

Image Source: Cloudfront

Rita‘s children have grown-up and are leading their own lives whilst her marriage has dissolved into nothing. She sets out to live the life she has always dreamed about by travelling to undeveloped countries all over the globe for the rest of her life. These memoirs will prove motivational for anyone that needs it!

 
 

Similarity Match: 90%
This novel is less self-centred than ‘Eat, Pray, Love’ as it teaches how we can be of major help to others, however both novels focus on strong female protagonists that go through massive changes within their lives to get to the point where they’re at now.

***
‘A Year by the Sea’ (Joan Anderson, 1999)

Image Source: Joan Anderson Online

Joan has been married for longer than she can remember and she soon realises that she’s put her life on hold for decades as she put her husband and children first. Nevertheless, when her husband gets a new job, she refuses to follow him and instead retreats to a cottage on Cape Cod to nurture her own self-discovery. A movie adaptation of this novel is set to be released soon too, so keep an eye out for that!

   

Similarity Match: 90%
This novel is extremely similar to ‘Eat, Pray, Love’ as both the women in these novels stand up for what they want and go out and get it, however Elizabeth’s life in ‘Eat, Pray, Love’ seems to be a lot more adventure focused than Joan’s.

***

If You Like ‘Eat, Pray, Love’ You Will Like…

If you enjoy a book like ‘Eat, Pray, Love’ but wish to include some strong male leads within your reading then ‘How Starbucks Saved My Life’ and ‘Beautiful Boy: A Father’s Journey Through His Son’s Addiction’ are definitely ones to read.

‘How Starbucks Saved My Life’ (Michael Gates Gill, 2007)

Image Source: Amazon

This novel follows a man who goes from having the perfect life and being a business executive to losing his job and finding out he has a brain tumour. At his lowest, he takes a job at Starbucks and gains a whole new positive outlook on life. Miraculously, he begins to put his life back together and it’s all to do with the job at Starbucks.

 
 

There are many moments in this book where you will get rather emotional and even cry as with ‘Eat, Pray, Love’ however the emotional intensity of this book is so much greater to ‘Eat, Pray, Love’ perhaps because cancer is a huge fear to many people.

***
‘Beautiful Boy: A Father’s Journey Through His Son’s Addiction’ (David Sheff, 2008)

Image Source: Poison Boy

Winner of the Barnes and Noble Discover Great New Writers Award for nonfiction, ‘Beautiful Boy’ follows a father’s journey on how he and his family deal with his son’s drug addiction. Not only do we gain an insight into the horror that a parent goes through we also see how David had to deal with the issues whilst also suffering from a brain haemorrhage. This novel is sure to answer those questions that no one is brave enough to ask out loud.

 

‘Eat, Pray, Love’ and ‘Beautiful Boy’ may seem to be completely different novels focused on entirely different issues however both novels have strong, determined protagonists that survive throughout a range of difficulties within their lives.

***

Personal Journeys

One thing that all of these books have in common is that the protagonists are strong-willed and will do whatever it takes to remain happy, whether that’s leaving what they’ve known for years or standing by their family when it would be easier to let go.

Do you have any thoughts on these books or know of any more memoirs that feature brave souls on their unique journeys?

Comment below and let us know!

itcher Mag is the place for entertainment recommendations across movies, books, music and games.
[thrive_leads id="105464"]

Find out what the community are loving on the itcher app right now.

 

Still looking for a
movie to watch?

Rate 5 movies and we'll find your next favorite one. For FREE.