Search

See More Results
Home > Books > Books Like > 5 Books like Alex Rider: Teen Spy Thrillers
Alex Rider Book Cover
Image source: fanpop

5 Books like Alex Rider: Teen Spy Thrillers

Jane Howarth itcherAlex Rider’s not the only young spy around – find your next mile-a-minute adventure with the likes of Young Bond and James Adams. ~ Jane Howarth

More Good Books Like Alex Rider

Alex Rider author Anthony Horowitz credits the best-selling series with getting a generation of kids into books. But don’t lose that momentum!

For readers who have whizzed through the series from Stormbreaker (2000) to Russian Roulette (2013), here are more essential teen spy books like Alex Rider to read next.

***
‘Young Sherlock Holmes: Death Cloud’ (Andrew Lane, 2010)

Young Sherlock Holmes: Death Cloud' (Andrew Lane, 2010)A Victorian setting should change the feeling of this mystery novel for younger readers, but swap gas lamps for street lights and carriages for cars and you’ve got a book that’s pretty similar to Alex Rider.

If you feel like there’s another connection to be found here, you’re right. The creator of Alex Rider, Anthony Horowitz, writes the equivalent series for adults, also under the approval of the author’s estate.

If you’re rather in the mood for a movie, check out these films like ‘Sherlock Holmes’.

Image source: storysnoops

SIMILARITY MATCH: 80%
Close to the pace and style of Alex Rider, with the main differences being the loss of all things tech, and the knowledge of where Holmes will eventually end up.

***
‘Young Bond: SilverFin’ (Charlie Higson, 2005)

Young Bond: SilverFin' (Charlie Higson, 2005)SilverFin is a nicely titled volume to launch Charlie Higson’s Young Bond series, as commissioned by Ian Fleming Publications.

A bonus? Fans of Alex Rider’s graphic novel adaptations can pick up Young Bond in the same format.

Eton student (later to transfer to Fettes, as per canon) James Bond embarks on his first adventure, and he really hits the ground running.

It reads like a hybrid of an Ian Fleming classic and a Boys’ Own adventure, adding up to a convincing period piece – SilverFin could easily date from the 1930s, and I mean that in a good way.

Image source: k1bond007

SIMILARITY MATCH: 60%
The early 20th Century feel will suit some readers but not others – all the same, Alex Rider fans should enjoy all the intrigues and close calls of this young spy novel.

***
‘The Recruit’ (Robert Muchamore, 2004)

The Recruit' (Robert Muchamore, 2004)Looking for a many-volumed series? Try the CHERUB books, which boast twelve novels in the first series, four with a new cast of young agents, and a graphic novel.

Not enough? The Henderson’s Boys prequels take you back to the 1940s with the first generation of agents.
In the first book, we meet James, whose alcoholic mum who’s running a shoplifting racket (with James taking orders at the school gates), an abusive stepfather, and a sister, Lauren.

Things get worse for the siblings, until they’re approached by a top secret organisation.

Dynamic writing and characters who face real challenges make this series feel really fresh, though a few of the missions and personal exploits deal with older themes than some similar books.

Image source: houseofblog

SIMILARITY MATCH: 60%
The characters are different in their origins, but they’re up-to-date and compelling – though take note that some themes are more mature. And like the Alex Rider series, there are enough CHERUB books (and a graphic novel) to keep you reading for a long time.

***

If You Like Alex Rider You Will Like…

You’re going to notice anyway, so I might as well own up. The characters you’re about to meet are not spies (but their book series are pretty great).

‘Lost Worlds’ (Andrew Lane, 2013)

Lost Worlds' (Andrew Lane, 2013)Like Alex Rider, Calum Challenger is an independent young tech genius who searches for weird and wonderful creatures, capturing their DNA and hoping to find a clue to cure his own disability.

But these heroes have something else in common – they’re both constantly fighting to outwit a villain.

Apart from a lead you can really get behind, his friends (and assistants) are all very individual, including female characters who don’t just sit around.

Image source: bookzone4boys

SIMILARITY MATCH: 60%
Mythological creature quests drive Lost Worlds, but the tech side and the team’s missions should be ideal for Alex Rider readers.

***
‘HIVE (Higher Institute of Villainous Education)’ (Mark Walden, 2006)

HIVE (Higher Institute of Villainous Education)' (Mark Walden, 2006)Villains take over as we follow Otto Malpense (French speakers, you already know this kid’s got a dastardly streak) to a sort of Hogwarts for future criminal masterminds.

In this book sequels, the missions are ambitious and the writing is easy to get into, making Mark Walden’s series a brilliant choice if you want a change of perspective (and with eight volumes to date, there’s plenty for readers to work their way through).

Image source: scottishbooktrust

SIMILARITY MATCH: 60%
It’s another side of the Alex Rider coin, this time with more emphasis on training. The HIVE series takes Russian Roulette a step further, exclusively following the villains.

***

Don’t Miss a Single Mission

I’ve selected these similar books to Alex Rider because their authors’ approaches are just as dynamic and readable, but more importantly? I think that once you pick up the first in the series, you’ll want to pick up the next instalment right away.

Looking for more young adult reads? Try these futuristic novels about bold heroines.

Any Alex Rider Fans Out There?

Calling all fans! What would you recommend to someone who’s read every Alex Rider book?Add your essential young spy suggestions in the comments.

 

Hi, I’m Jane, BA (Drama, Film and TV) and MA (Cultural and Creative Industries). When I’m not writing about creative things, I’m designing or planning them. If you’re brave enough to risk an avalanche, look behind the stacks of books and DVDs and you’ll find me balancing a cup of tea, a handful of knitting and a cupcake.
[thrive_leads id="105464"]

Find out what the community are loving on the itcher app right now.