Search

See More Results
Home > Books > Books Like > 6 Books like A Game of Thrones: Legendary Tales
Image source: Kudofoo

6 Books like A Game of Thrones: Legendary Tales

Coleen2With the ever growing popularity of the HBO series ‘A Game of Thrones,’ many fans know that the well known television program started as a series of captivating books beginning with ‘A Game of Thrones – A Song of Ice and Fire,’ by George R.R. Martin. To help you fill your imagination while you wait for the next fantastic novel in the ‘A Game of Thrones’ series to be released, try these books: ‘Nine Princes in Amber’ (1970), ‘The Eye of the World’ (1990) & ‘The Furies of Calderon’ (2005).
~ Coleen Holley

Epic Fantasy at Its Best!

If you have read the entire ‘A Game of Thrones’ series, you are surely chomping at the bit to find more exciting heroic fantasy books like ‘Lord of the Rings’ (J. R. R. Tolkien, 1954) and ‘The Earthsea Trilogy’ (Ursula K. Le Guin, 1968).

If you haven’t read the classics yet, check them out. If you’re looking for more legendary tales, magic, mayhem and even a fantasy adventure with a modern twist, find out in these thrilling books similar to ‘A Game of Thrones’.

***
‘Nine Princes in Amber’ (Roger Zelazny, 1970)

Image Source: Comic Vine

Corwin is a prince but he doesn’t know it. He awakens in a hospital with amnesia, and a series of strange events take place that enlightens him to his lineage. He is one of the many sons of Oberon, the King of Amber who has gone missing. Like ‘A Game of Thrones’ there are many contenders for the throne of Amber, which is the ‘real’ world, that an infinite number of ‘shadow worlds’ (including earth) parallel.

The pattern is an intricate maze inscribed in the dungeons of Castle Amber. In order to travel through shadow, Corwin must negotiate the Pattern’s dangerous curves (one misstep can kill him) so he can amass an army in his pursuit of the throne of Amber. There are ten books to keep you completely immersed for hours on end!

Similarity Match: 90%
Struggles for power, betrayal, defeats and triumphs, it’s ‘A Game of Thrones’ with a modern day twist.

***
‘The Eye of the World’ (Robert Jordan, 1990)

Image Source: This is Game

Mat, Perrin and Rand are young men who have been friends all of their lives and live in the small, remote town of Two Rivers. They have each seen a dark, malevolent figure following them for several days. After an attack on their village, in which they are saved by Moiraine, a mysterious woman who whisks them away in the nick of time. As in the “A Game of Thrones” one of these young men is the prophesied savior, the “Dragon Reborn.”

‘The Eye of the World’ begins a whole new world of good and evil, and the fight against it.   Comparable to ‘A Game of Thrones,’ the ‘Wheel of Time’ series starts out with several characters and a prophecy that the ‘Chosen One’ will save everyone from a terrible fate. From cover to cover, this is a vast saga that will keep you captivated and guessing from book one to book fourteen.

Similarity Match: 90%
In the same epic style as ‘A Game of Thrones’, ‘The Wheel of Time’ series includes a prophecy of the ”Chosen One.” Who is it?

***
‘Wizard’s First Rule’ (Terry Goodkind, 1994)

Image Source: WordPress

Maybe my favorite book like ‘A Game of Thrones’ is ‘Wizard’s First Rule.’ The ‘Sword of Truth’ series are truly on an grand scale and will keep you enthralled from the first page. Richard is an innocent young man investigating the brutal murder of his father when he meets a beautiful woman, Kahlan, who is pursued by barbarous men.

Defending her by shear luck, he sets out to help her find the ‘First Wizard,’ whom she declares must name a ‘Seeker’ to help defeat the evil Lord Rahl, who would enslave her homeland.

Richard enlists the help of his good friend Zed, a wise old man who he determines is the ‘First Wizard.’ In return, Zed names Richard as the ‘Seeker of Truth.’ Follow Richard, Kahlan and Zed as they set out to defeat Lord Rahl. In true ‘A Game of Thrones’ fashion, there are many surprises in store for all three characters.

Similarity Match: 80%
From a clumsy hero to the unwitting ‘Seeker’, and the final shocking end where Richard’s true heritage is revealed, the ‘Sword of Truth’ series shares some of the same spellbinding adventure, brutality and conflict that ‘A Game of Thrones’ readers love.

***
‘The Furies of Calderon’ (Jim Butcher, 2005)

Image Source: Fineprint Blog

In a world where people in Alera can bond with a ‘Fury’ – elementals of earth, air, fire, water, and metal, at fifteen, Tavi finds himself with no furycrafting abilities. Raised by his aunt and uncle in the quiet Calderon Valley, he struggles to overcome his impairment. He learns of a savage uprising against the town, and against the First Lord of Alera himself.

Gaius Sextus, an aging monarch with no heir, tries to hold the country of Alera together against a war of succession and the threat of treachery to the crown. Much like the plotting, twisting and conniving characters in ‘Game of Thrones,’ Tavi must fight through betrayal and disability to stop the savage horde from destroying his home.

Little does he know that there is much more in store for him than just saving his small valley, but that his true identity has been kept from him to protect him. There are six books in the action-packed ‘Codex Alera’ series that will keep you on the edge of your seat.

Similarity Match: 80%
In true form of ‘A Game of Thrones’ with plotting, back-stabbing and scheming, travel with Tavi on his journey to discover his latent fury talents and the secret birthright that awaits him.

***
‘Deryni Rising’ (Katherine Kurtz, 1970)

Image Source: Amazon

‘The Chronicles of the Deryni’ trilogy will keep you enchanted from the start in the same manner as ‘Game of Thrones.’ In the kingdom of Gwynedd, having the magical powers of the Deryni can be a death sentence, since it is strictly forbidden by the all-powerful Church. King Brion died of mysterious causes and his son, Kelson, is about to assume the throne. Charissa, a Deryni sorceress, challenges Kelson to rule the kingdom.

His mother hates all that is magical, and when King Brion’s closest friend and adviser, Alaric Morgan, who is the Deryni Duke of Corwyn, arrives to help, she tries to have him imprisoned. The ensuing events will keep you turning the pages to find out how Kelson protects himself against a fully trained Deryni sorceress.

Like ‘Game of Thrones’, each person thinks they have the rightful claim to the throne. Find out how Kelson prevails against Charissa, and tries to balance the power of the Church and the magical powers of the Deryni.

Similarity Match: 70%
Like ‘A Game of Thrones’, this tale of might and magic takes place in an Old English setting with tyranny, treachery and deception in every corner.

***
‘Pawn of Prophecy’ (David Eddings, 1982)

Image Source: Amazon

In the beginning there were seven gods, as in ‘A Game of Thrones’ where the Faith of the Seven is the predominant religion, in David Eddings enchanting series, ‘Pawn of Prophecy’ starts with a young man, Garion growing up hearing all of the stories of the seven gods, and how the evil god Torak took the Orb of Aldur and how the line of the Rivan Kings have kept it safe for thousands of years.

An Apostate has stolen the Orb and it is up to Garion and his ‘Aunt Pol’ and Belgarath, a sorcerer disguised as a story teller, to retrieve it. As in ‘A Game of Thrones’ there is a prophecy of a king that will save all of mankind from evil. While this is a common theme, the twists and turns of ‘Pawn of Prophecy’ will keep you on the edge of your seat. It’s a good thing there are five books in the series ‘The Belgariad’ to keep you deeply engrossed in this fascinating work of literature!

Similarity Match: 60%
Playing on Prophecy as in ‘A Game of Thrones’, the expedition of Belgarath, Garion and Aunt Pol keep readers wanting more and wondering what is in store for them as they quest for the Orb.

***

Before You Go…

If you love the epic style of ‘A Game of Thrones’ you may also want to travel to the distant planet of Pern in Anne McCaffery’s legendary ‘Dragon Riders of Pern’ series where dragons bond with humans to protect their world from the ravages of “thread”, or to the mythical land of Serendair where you’ll travel through time in Elizabeth Haydon’s ‘Sympohny of Ages.’

Want more details, or want to recommend a similar must-read fantasy?

Let us know in the comments!

itcher Mag is the place for entertainment recommendations across movies, books, music and games.
[thrive_leads id="105464"]

Find out what the community are loving on the itcher app right now.

 

Still looking for a
movie to watch?

Rate 5 movies and we'll find your next favorite one. For FREE.