Search

See More Results
Home > Books > Authors Like > Authors like Maya Banks
Taking All Book Cover
no credit

Authors like Maya Banks

Helen Maloney itcherBanks has made a name for herself writing sexy and scintillating tales of seduction, love and often unconventional relationships. Compromises must be made, truths accepted and risks taken, all on the journey to love and a happy ever after. ~ Helen Maloney

If you enjoy her work, then look no further for authors like Maya Banks! I can’t help but enjoy Banks’ work, especially as her characters seem to leap off the page, full of flaws and foibles, and appearing all too real.

I discovered Banks through her highland series and have been steadily exploring and loving the rest of her bibliography. This has inspired me to investigate other authors like Maya Banks and I’m recommending my favourites to you now.

***

Authors Similar to Maya Banks

Lauren Dane

Lauren Dane

Dane is also a fan of realistic characters and unconventional romance, whether in her paranormal, urban fantasy or contemporary novels.

While we also have the requisite ruthless businessmen, we also have heroes from all walks of life – like Banks – including red hot rock stars, alpha male vampires, take-charge security experts, sexy witches, and so much more.

Not to mention the lucky women who get to call them theirs: librarian, baker, café owner, single mum, powerful witches….

Her books are sexy, addictive and emotive. I dare you not to fall in love with Dane!

SIMILARITY MATCH: 90%
Dane, like Banks, captures the struggle and challenge involved in falling in love, but she often explores her themes in more paranormal settings.

Image source: tattoopins
***
J. Kenner

J. Kenner

Kenner writes erotic and sexy romances and her Most Wanted series is a definite must for Banks fans as it very much reminds me of her Breathless trilogy.

We have three sexy, scarred and powerful best friends who are also business partners, who like to be in control, and the emotional rollercoaster ride that is their journey into love with the strong and striking women who are the only ones capable of keeping their hearts safe.

SIMILARITY MATCH: 85%
Kenner’s style resembles Banks’ with the character depth and development, with the tumultuous journey her characters must go on, and the challenges they must overcome.

Image source: westchester
***
Lainey Reese

Lainey Reese Damaged Goods (New York)

Reese‘s New York series is very reminiscent of authors such as Banks, Dane and Day, with its themes of dominance and submission, ménage, and that overpowering lust and attraction that quickly turns to love.

Our heroes are strong, confident individuals who like to be in control but turn into gooey messes when they fall in love.

That’s not to say they don’t have their fair share of trouble to get through, before their happy endings can happen.

SIMILARITY MATCH: 80%
Reese explores themes and ideas similar to Banks but you can tell that she is a less experienced writer and she doesn’t quite have the same depth yet.

Image source: anasattic
***
Shayla Black

Their Virgin Captive: Masters of Ménage (Masters of Menage)

Black’s characters are also full of flaws and their path to their happy endings is often fraught with obstacles and challenges.

BDSM is an explored theme, as is the idea of ménage, especially in her Wicked Lovers and Masters of Ménage series, as it is in Bank’s work.

She also likes to examine the different sides and styles to these relationships.

SIMILARITY MATCH: 75%
I feel, on the whole, that there is more focus on the BDSM side, rather than its simply being a facet of the relationship, with the focus more on the couple’s journey.

Image source: tsukibooks
***
Jennifer Ashley

Jennifer Ashley book

If you enjoyed BanksHighland series (both McCabes and The Montgomerys and Armstrongs) then Ashley writes an interesting series you might like. It’s set in the regency period but follows a titled Scottish family as they discover or are reunited with their beloveds.

There are many similarities between Ashley’s MacKenzie family and their medieval counterparts: the men are strong and brave, keen to protect those they care for, and they can be extremely stubborn and proud.

At the heart of everything is the idea of family, and you can imagine these MacKenzie’s still have that true highland spirit running through their veins.

SIMILARITY MATCH: 70%
The tales are turbulent and as full of mystery and danger as Banks’, but there is less kilt wearing and sword brandishing due to the different time periods.

Image source: goodreads
***

More Steamy Tales?

I hope my recommended authors similar to Maya Banks have inspired you and beefed up your to read list.Do you have any other authors like Maya Banks who you would like to recommend?

Please let us know.

 

Hi, I′m Helen, I teach English in the UK and am a book addict (I′m serious - if I go too long without reading I get withdrawal symptoms!). I also love music, films, crafting, corresponding and video games. It is impossible for me to sit still unless I′m eating, holding a book or making something.
[thrive_leads id="105464"]

Find out what the community are loving on the itcher app right now.

 

Still looking for a
movie to watch?

Rate 5 movies and we'll find your next favorite one. For FREE.