Search

See More Results
Home > Books > Authors Like > Authors like Lee Child to Satisfy Your Cravings
Image source: Blogger

Authors like Lee Child to Satisfy Your Cravings

Mel Candea itcherFans of Lee Child, especially the Jack Reacher series, might not even know where to start when looking for a replacement. Authors like Lee Child are rare, but we have found a few for you.
~ Mel Candea

My Top 5 Authors like Lee Child

“So here’s the thing Brett. Either you take your hand off my chest, or I’ll take it off your wrist.” – Jack Reacher

A character like Jack Reacher is the ultimate in ‘loner heroes.’

The moralistic ex-military cop who wanders the U.S., answering only to his own code of honor, is pretty unforgettable. And finding authors like Lee Child isn’t easy, but we’ve come up with several for you.

Greg Rucka (`The Walking Dead´ 2009)

Greg Rucka, The Walking Dead

“Knife fights are something that happen between the Sharks and the Jets, that’s it. Everywhere else, it’s not a fight, it’s just someone trying to goddam kill you.” (Greg Rucka)

Protagonist: Atticus Kodiak is an ex-bodyguard and now fugitive with a solid sense of justice.

Book Summary: Kodiak is hiding in the country of Georgia with Alena Cizkova, a deadly assassin.

A neighbor and friend is brutally killed- along with the man’s family, apart from his daughter, who is kidnapped.

Police are calling it a murder-suicide, but as Kodiak goes after the missing girl the truth unravels.

Image source: GregRucka
***
`The Monkey’s Raincoat´ (Robert Crais, 1987)

Robert Crais, The Monkey’s Raincoat (1987)

“Winter downpour; even the monkey needs a raincoat.” – Matsuo Bashō (Robert Crais)

Protagonists: P.I. Elvis Cole and partner Joe Pike; Cole is a smartass ex-Ranger with a strict moral compass.

Book Summary: A woman named Ellen Lang hires Cole to find her missing husband and son.

Cole’s investigation leads him from Hollywood to the Mexican mafia with plenty of the unexpected in between.

Image source: overdrive
***
`Kill Shot´ (Vince Flynn, 2012)

Vince Flynn, Kill Shot

“A killer is who you use when you don’t care if people know it was a murder. An assassin’s who you use when you don’t want anyone to know it was a murder.” (Vince Flynn)

Protagonist: Mitch Rapp is a counter-terrorist operative who works quietly with secret ops. He’s willing to take any action necessary to do his job, but he’s a haunted man.

Book Summary: Rapp is working through his hit list of the men behind the grisly deaths of 270 civilians when something goes wrong.

During a hit, he’s attacked – making him a liability to those that oversee him.

Rapp is now the target.

Image source: VinceFlynn
***
`The Kingmaker´ (Brian Haig, 2003)

Brian Haig, The Kingmaker

“Listen Drummond, your client betrayed this country in ways too horrible to contemplate…he not only gave the Russians names, he also exposed the inner workings of our foreign policy. In the history of espionage, there’s never been one like him.” (Brian Haig)

Protagonist: JAG attorney Sean Drummond became a lawyer after an injury forced him to leave action. His played-down sense of humor and sense of right and wrong drive him forward.

Book Summary: Drummond is called on to defend the treason case of Gereal William T. Morrison.

The charges grow, including perjury and two counts of murder.

As Drummond investigates, he starts discovering a layered plot and cover-up that could be deadly.

Image source: brianhaig
***
`The Breach´ (Patrick Lee, 2009)

Patrick Lee, The Breach

Protagonist: Travis Chase is an ex- (dirty) cop who has just been released from a 15-year prison sentence who is earthly, realistic and just wants to get on with a good life.

Book Summary: Chase takes a hike in the Alaskan Rockies, where he discovers the remnants of a crashed 747.

The passengers are all dead – they’ve been shot.

A mysterious object that was also onboard puts Chase in the crosshairs of a 3-decade-long conspiracy.

Image source: PatrickLeeFiction
***

Thrilling like Lee Child: Similar Authors to Read:

David Baldacci, the John Puller seriesStill not enough?

No worries!

Here are a few more for you to explore:

David Baldacci, the John Puller Series

The human spirit was the strongest medicine on earth. And sometimes all it needed was a little encouragement to pull off a miracle.

Image source: goodreads
***
John Sanford bookJohn Sanford,  the Lucas Davenport Books

The thing about Flowers was, in Lucas’s humble opinion, you could send him out for a loaf of bread and he’d find an illegal bread cartel smuggling in heroin-saturated wheat from Afghanistan.

Image source: johnsandford
***
Michael ConnellyMichael Connelly, the Hieronymous (‘Harry’) Bosch series, the HieronymousMichael Connelly, the Hieronymous (‘Harry’) Bosch Series

He defined good company not by the conversation but by the lack of it. When there was no need to talk to feel comfortable, that was the right company. –about Harry Bosch

Image source: booksandculture
***
James Patterson bookJames Patterson, the Alex Cross books:

Beware the anger of a patient man.

Image source: deadgoodbooks

What about You?

Are there any Lee Child similar writers you’d add to the list?

Any of ours you disagree with?

Let us know in the comments below!

itcher Mag is the place for entertainment recommendations across movies, books, music and games.
[thrive_leads id="105464"]

Find out what the community are loving on the itcher app right now.

 

Still looking for a
movie to watch?

Rate 5 movies and we'll find your next favorite one. For FREE.